Moyle Rovers

Founded 1928

Co. Tipperary

Club History

Moyle Rovers GAA is a Gaelic Athletic Association club in County Tipperary, Ireland.

The club derives its name from the river Moyle that runs through the Parish and joins the Anner. The club was founded in 1928. Previous to this since the 1800s various teams represented the Parish in local leagues most often the Clonmel League. Kilsheelan GAA club have recorded games played against Powerstown in the early 1900s. Apparently both teams were quiet strong.

The Clubs Grounds, Monroe was officially opened in 1990. Soon after in 1991 they won their first South senior football title and in 1995 the most momentous of all, their first ever County senior football championship final win. Further victories in this grade followed in 1996/98/99/00 along with these Moyle Rovers also won four South Senior football titles; and contested two Munster club finals also.

1993 saw a unique achievement for the club when their junior hurling teams won the South A & B championships. But 1998 was to prove an historic year for hurling in the club when they won the County junior "A" championship for the first time.

Declan Browne is our most famous player and he has 2 All Star football awards and has represented his country for the International Rules Series. Declan has since retired in December 2012. Derry foley has represented his country for the International Rules Series also,

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play